Advisory Board

The Knepp Wildland project is guided by a board of conservation experts


Keith Alexander, independent ecologist and specialist on saproxylic beetles

Martin Boers, Livestock Partnership Veterinary Practice

Prof Paul Buckland, Professor in Environmental Archaeology, Bournemouth University

Sir Charles Burrell, Bt, owner Knepp Estate

Jill Butler, Conservation Advisor, Woodland Trust

Prof Mick Crawley, Emeritus Professor of Plant Ecology, Imperial College, London

Prof Alastair Driver, Director, Rewilding Britain

Jason Emrich, Estate Manager, Knepp Estate

Alison Field, Area Director for London & the Southeast, Forestry Commission

Prof Rob Fuller, former Science Director, British Trust for Ornithology

Paul Goriup, Director of Fieldfare International Ecological Development PLC

Emma Goldberg, Natural England

Penny Green, Ecologist, Knepp Wildland, and former Manager, Sussex Biodiversity Record Centre

Ted Green, Founding Member, Ancient Tree Forum, and former English Nature Conservation Consultant to the Crown Estate at Windsor

Theresa Greenaway, former Manager, Sussex Biodiversity Record Centre

Prof Matthew Heard, Principal Scientific Officer, Natural Environment Research Council

Kristoffer Hewitt, Senior Advisor, Biodiversity Sussex & Kent Area, Natural England

Neil Hulme, independent conservation advisor and former Chair, Butterfly Conservation (Sussex Branch)

Hans Kampf, Senior Policy Advisor on Ecosystems and the Environment to the Dutch Government

Jason Lavender, Co-Director, High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty

Prof Sir John Lawton, former Chair of Making Space for Nature, and President, Yorkshire Wildlife Trust

Dr Alex Lord, Projects Manager, Permian Global Research Ltd

Dr Pascale Nicolet, Director of Policy and Implementation, Freshwater Habitats Trust

Matthew Oates, National Specialist on Nature, National Trust

Jim Seymour, Southeast Regional Land Management Programme Manager, Natural England

Julian Smith, Trustee, Knepp Castle Estate

Dr Ken Smith, former Head of Aquatic Research, RSPB

Jonathan Spencer, Head of Planning and Environment, Forestry Commission

Dr Frans Vera, Dutch ecologist and author of Grazing Ecology & Forest History

Dr Joep van de Vlasakker, Large Herbivore Foundation

Dr Tony Whitbread, President, Sussex Wildlife Trust